GForce - Alex Ball (Artist Expansion Pack)

Electronic Download
No shipping required, software license is emailed within minutes.
Please note software is not eligible for returns or cancellation once purchased.
Ask us about compatibility & system requirements before purchasing.

**This Expansion Pack is for registered owners of M-Tron Pro.**

As an existing GForce Software’s M-Tron Pro user, you’ll no doubt be aware that, while the instrument comes with one of the largest Mellotron® Tape Bank libraries, it can also be augmented by the finest expansion packs recorded from original tapes from the UK’s original hardware Mellotron manufacturer, Streetly Electronics.

However, this is the first time GForce Software has invited an artist to create a fresh set of tape banks, utilising both modern and traditional Streetly Electronics ‘tron-based technologies to enrich your next composition. Over 150 presets were created to complement the pack.

If you follow his Youtube Channel, you know that with Alex you are in for a treat.


Alex Ball is a British composer, producer and multi-instrumentalist who was brought up the analogue way learning instruments, studying music and playing with other musicians.

Alex was Music Producer for M&C Saatchi for over a decade where he composed, produced, sourced and licensed music for countless advertising campaigns for brands such TFL, Coca-Cola, Havana Club Rum, Virgin Holidays and many, many more.

Outside of advertising Alex has worked on the trailers for ‘Sackboy: A Big Adventure’ and ‘Watch Dogs: Legion’, composed music for the Cbeebies BAFTA nominated series ‘Tee & Mo’ and, had music used in an episode of Netflix ‘Stranger Things’ and BBC’s ‘The Apprentice’.

In 2016, on a whim, Alex started uploading videos to YouTube as an outlet for his ideas and inspiration around music production, composition and arranging. This evolved into synthesizer documentaries and film score breakdowns which have proved popular…


The project started with Alex selecting and recording a series of instruments and capturing the 35-note key range of the original M400 Mellotron. In addition to chromatic instruments Alex also decided to include two distinct rhythm and accompaniment styles mirroring the key signature and tempo layout of the original Mellotron MkII.

These rhythms and accompaniments adhere to a tempo of 125 BPM, and each note adheres to strict note mapping where each note replays a different key changes within an overall key of C. By playing different notes, the user can easily build up a track with assorted key changes and then finish by playing the bottom G which replays a combined end rhythm and accompaniment.

To facilitate this, Alex played and recorded all the instruments for 70 rhythms and accompaniments, plus all of the chromatic instruments, in a series of exhaustive sessions.


Once recorded, the results of those sessions were taken to Streetly Electronics and ‘Tronized’ via their Skeletron – a bare-bones Mellotron M400. This involved recording everything to tape and then re- recording the output via both the Skeletron pre-amp, plus, in the case of the rhythms and accompaniments, threading the tapes onto an original MkII Mellotron and recording the on-board speaker output. Finally, the ‘Tronized’ recordings were sent back to Alex Ball for chopping and shoe-horning into the M-Tron Pro.

While time-consuming and very labour intensive, we think this process was vital when it comes to staying true to the Mellotron’s ethos and origins. Without Alex’s exemplary musicianship and devotion to detail, and without Tronizing, this pack could be viewed as a straightforward sample pack for M-Tron Pro. However, with the convergence of skills and technologies from both Alex and Streetly Electronics, we think this set of tape banks affords you something unique, special and highly inspirational.


  • A GForce Software and Alex Ball collaboration
  • Over 150 M-Tron Pro Patches
  • 27 carefully curated tape banks for M-Tron Pro
  • Instruments include: Double Bass, Electronic Bass, Balalaika, Banjo, Baritone Acoustic, Nylon Guitar, Tremolo Guitar, Ukulele, Baritone Electric, Twang Guitar, Piano, Clavinet, System 100M, Violins Pizz, Violas Pizz, Violins Bow, Voice Spectra.
  • 35 notes per tape bank
  • Exclusively available via download – 464MB


The authentic accuracy of every sound re-created by the M-Tron Pro is mind boggling. From the classic choirs to the flutes of ‘Strawberry Fields’ this platform is unmistakably retro ‘tron.

Mark Taylor

Simple MInds

System Requirements

  • Mac & PC compatible (76 MB)
  • Available to registered owners of M-Tron Pro

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet